45 Counties Designated Drought Natural Disaster Areas – AgFax

This Secretariat Natural Disaster designation allows the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) to provide much-needed emergency credit to growers recovering from a natural disaster through the bias emergency loans.

Emergency loans can be used to meet a variety of recovery needs, including replacing critical items such as equipment or livestock, reorganizing a farm operation, or refinancing certain debts. The FSA will review loans based on the extent of losses, available collateral and ability to repay.

According to the US Drought Monitor, these counties experienced a growing season drought intensity rating of 1) D2 Drought-Severe for 8 or more consecutive weeks or 2) D3 Drought-Extreme or D4 Drought-Exceptional.

Affected area: North Dakota

Onset of the disaster: Drought

Registration deadline: January 26, 2023

Main eligible counties

Adam Dunn Kidder Olivier Rigid
Benson Tourbillon Logan pembina Steele
Billings emmons McHenry pierce Stutsman
Bootie Foster McKenzie Ramsey Townsman
Archer golden valley McLean Renville Path
burk Big Forks Mercier casters Walsh
Burleigh To agree Morton Sheridan Hall
Rider Grigg mounting rail Sioux well
Divide Hettinger Nelson Slope williams

Contiguous counties also eligible:

North Dakota: Barnes, Cass, LaMoure and McIntosh

Minnesota: Kittson, Marshall, Norman and Polk

Montana: Fallon, Richland, Roosevelt, Sheridan and Wibaux

South Dakota: Campbell, Corson, Harding and Perkins

More resources

On farmers.gov, the Disaster Assistance Discovery Tool, Disaster Assistance Fact Sheet at a Glanceand Agricultural Loan Discovery Tool can help you determine program or loan options. To file a Notice of Loss or to ask about available programs, contact your local USDA Service Center.