5 Counties Designated Drought Natural Disaster Areas – AgFax

This Secretariat Natural Disaster designation allows the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) to provide much-needed emergency credit to growers recovering from a natural disaster through the bias emergency loans.

Emergency loans can be used to meet a variety of recovery needs, including replacing critical items such as equipment or livestock, reorganizing a farm operation, or refinancing certain debts. The FSA will review loans based on the extent of losses, available collateral and ability to repay.

According to the US Drought Monitor, these counties experienced a growing season drought intensity rating of 1) D2 Drought-Severe for 8 or more consecutive weeks or 2) D3 Drought-Extreme or D4 Drought-Exceptional.

Affected area:Texas

Triggering disaster: Drought

Registration deadline: January 31, 2023

Main eligible counties: Austin, Colorado, Harris and Lavaca

Contiguous counties also eligible:

Brazoria Curvature of the fort Freedom Waller
Bedrooms Galveston Montgomery Washington
DeWitt Gonzales Victoria Wharton
fayette jackson

A second designation is as follows:

Affected area:Texas

Triggering disaster: Drought

Registration deadline: February 3, 2023

Main eligible counties: Strong Elbow

Contiguous counties also eligible: Austin, Brazoria, Harris, Waller and Wharton

More resources

On farmers.gov, the Disaster Assistance Discovery Tool, Disaster Assistance Fact Sheet at a Glanceand Agricultural Loan Discovery Tool can help you determine program or loan options. To file a Notice of Claim or to inquire about available programs, contact your USDA Service Center.