6 counties designated natural disaster areas to freeze, high winds – AgFax

Corn seedlings after a frost. Photo: Rome Ethredge, University of Georgia

This Secretariat Natural Disaster designation allows the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) to provide much-needed emergency credit to growers recovering from a natural disaster through the bias emergency loans.

Emergency loans can be used to meet a variety of recovery needs, including replacing critical items such as equipment or livestock, reorganizing a farm operation, or refinancing certain debts. The FSA will review loans based on the extent of losses, available collateral and ability to repay.

Affected area: Caroline from the south

Onset of the disaster: Freezing temperatures and strong winds that occurred from March 12 to 14, 2022.

Registration deadline: February 28, 2023

Main eligible counties: Cherokee, Edgefield, Greenville, Saluda, Spartanburg and Union

Contiguous counties also eligible:

Caroline from the south: Abbeville, Aiken, Anderson, Chester, Fairfield, Greenwood, Laurens, Lexington, McCormick, Newberry, Pickens and York
Georgia: Colombia and Richmond
North Carolina: Cleveland, Henderson, Polk, Rutherford and Transylvania

More resources

On farmers.gov, the Disaster Assistance Discovery Tool, Disaster Assistance Fact Sheet at a Glanceand Agricultural Loan Discovery Tool can help you determine program or loan options. To file a Notice of Loss or to ask about available programs, contact your local USDA Service Center.