Governor’s EMS and Injury Advisory Council (GETAC) – Agenda of the Disaster Preparedness and Response Committee

November 20, 2021 – 9:00 a.m.

Hilton Austin Hotel, Salon H

500 4th Street East

Austin, Emission 78701

of the governor SMU and Trauma Advisory Council (GETAC) –
Disaster Meeting of the preparation and intervention committee
Department of State Health Services (DSHS)

Hilton Austin Hotel, Salon H
500 4th Street East
Austin, Texas 78701

Eric Epley, NREMT-P, President
Mike Clements, Brian Eastridge, MD, Sharon Malone, MD, Council Liaisons
Jorie Klein, IA, Joseph Schmider, DSHS

Call to Order / Roll Call – Eric Epley, NREMT-P, Chair

Reading of GETAC’s vision and mission statements – Eric Epley, president

GETAC vision:
A unified, comprehensive and efficient emergency health care system.

GETAC Mission:
Promote, develop and advance a responsible and patient-centered trauma and emergency care system.

Review and Approval of June 2021 Meeting Minutes – Eric Epley, Chair

EMS / Trauma Systems Update – Jorie Klein, MSN, MHA, BSN, RN, Director of EMS / Trauma Systems; Joseph Schmider, Director of State SMU

Discussion and possible action on the following points – Committee members

  1. COVID-19 response, discussion of best practices, concerns, etc. – Committee members
  2. Emergency Medical Task Force (EMTF) Updates – Sara Jensen
  3. 2022 Priorities Review – Eric Epley
  4. Statewide Emergency Medical Task Force (EMTF) Bracelet Project –
    Eric Epley, president
  5. Discussion on COVID After Action Review (AAR) Planning Committee Membership –
    Eric Epley, president
  6. Review the GETAC Strategic Plan for the Texas Emergency Health Care System and
    determine if any additions, deletions or corrections are in order –
    Committee members
  7. Potential initiatives, programs and research that could improve disasters
    Texas Readiness and Response – Eric Epley, President

General public comment
(comment time may be limited at the discretion of the chair)

Summary of actions to be taken for the GETAC meeting report – Committee members

Announcements – Eric Epley, President

Review and list agenda items for next meeting – Eric Epley, Chair

Next meeting date – Eric Epley, President

Adjournment – Eric Epley, President

Public comment: The Texas Department of State Health Services (DSHS) welcomes comments from the public regarding topics related to emergency health care. Members of the public are encouraged to participate in this process by providing written public comments to DSHS by emailing [email protected] no later than 5:00 p.m. on November 17, 2021. Please include your name and that of the organization. you represent or speak as a private citizen. Written comments are limited to three minutes and will be read during the meeting for consideration by the Board. The application must contain your name, the name of the organization you represent or speak of as a private citizen, and your direct telephone number.

Public comments are limited to three minutes. Speakers should indicate their name, affiliation and on whose behalf they are speaking. Members of the public using materials are requested to provide an electronic copy in accessible pdf format to be distributed by DSHS staff to Council members, government staff and for public distribution. Documents are limited to two pages of documentation (paper size: 8.5 “by 11”, single side). Documents should be emailed to DSHS no later than 5:00 p.m. November 17, 2021, and include the name of the person who will comment.

Note: These procedures may be revised at the discretion of the DSHS.

Contact: Questions regarding agenda items, content, or meeting arrangements should be directed to Jorie Klein, DSHS, 512-535-8538, or [email protected]

Persons with disabilities who wish to attend the meeting and need auxiliary aids or
Services should contact Jorie Klein at 512-535-8538 or [email protected] at least 72 hours prior to the meeting so that appropriate arrangements can be made.