Texas counties designated as primary natural disaster areas New

The United States Department of Agriculture has designated 26 counties in Texas as primary natural disaster areas. This secretariat’s natural disaster designation enables the USDA Farm Service Agency (FSA) to provide much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters through emergency loans.

Emergency loans can be used to meet a variety of recovery needs, including replacing essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganizing a farm, or refinancing certain debts. FSA will review loans based on the extent of losses, available collateral, and repayment capacity.

Texas was designated as an impact area due to excessive humidity that occurred between April 1 and August 31 of this year.

The deadline for applications is June 7, 2022.

Although not designated as the primary county, Cherokee County is one of the 47 contiguous counties that are also eligible.

On farmers.gov, one can locate the Disaster Assistance Discovery Tool, Disaster Assistance Factsheet, and Farm Loan Discovery Tool which can help determine program or loan options. To file a loss notice or to ask questions about available programs, contact your local USDA service center.

The Cherokee County Service Center and Smith County Service Center are currently closed to visitors due to the pandemic, but continue to work with agricultural producers through phone, email and other digital tools.

Contact the Cherokee County Center at 903-683-4234 or the Smith County Center at 903-561-6042 to make an appointment.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.