USDA Designates 17 Florida Counties as Primary Natural Disaster Areas –

Orange trees are covered in ice after a hard frost.
UF/IFAS Photo by Tyler Jones

This Secretariat Natural Disaster designation allows the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) to provide much-needed emergency credit to growers recovering from a natural disaster through the bias emergency loans. Emergency loans can be used to meet a variety of recovery needs, including replacing critical items such as equipment or livestock, reorganizing a farm operation, or refinancing certain debts. The FSA will review loans based on the extent of losses, available collateral and ability to repay.

Affected area: Florida

Triggering disaster: Frost, frost and ice that occurred from January 23 to January 31, 2022

Registration deadline: 21 Nov 2022

Main eligible counties:

Broward Hardy indian river Okeechobee Polk
Coal Hendry Manatee Osceola St. LUCIA
DeSoto Highlands Martin palm beach sarasota
Clearings Hillsborough

Contiguous counties also eligible:

Brevard Lee Orange pinelles
Charlotte Miami Dade Not co Summer
Lake Monroe

More resources
On, the Disaster Assistance Discovery ToolDisaster Assistance Fact Sheet at a Glance, and Agricultural Loan Discovery Tool can help you determine program or loan options. To file a Notice of Claim or to inquire about available programs, contact your USDA Service Center.