USDA Designates 23 Mississippi Counties as Primary Natural Disaster Areas Due to Drought | Mississippi Politics and Current Affairs

Eligible farmers in Mississippi, Louisiana, Arkansas and Texas can apply for federal assistance through Dec. 8.

In late April, the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) announcement that farmers in four states who experienced drought during the growing season are eligible to apply for federal assistance.

The USDA has designated 23 counties in Mississippi as major natural disaster areas due to drought.

This Secretariat Natural Disaster designation allows the USDA Farm Service Agency (FSA) to issue emergency credit to growers recovering from a natural disaster through emergency loans. Emergency loan funds can be used for:

  • Restore or replace an essential asset
  • Pay all or part of the production costs associated with the disaster year
  • Pay essential family expenses
  • Reorganize the family farm
  • Refinance certain non-real estate operating debts

“I appreciate the USDA’s efforts to designate 23 counties as primary natural disaster areas in response to the drought that occurred last winter. This designation gives affected farmers access to low-interest emergency loans,” said Agriculture and Trade Commissioner Andy Gipson. “Additionally, drought-affected livestock producers may also qualify for the Livestock Forage Disaster program. Farmers and growers should contact their local USDA service center for more information.

Major Mississippi counties eligible for federal assistance include:

  • Adam
  • Friendship
  • Bolivar
  • Carroll
  • Claiborne
  • coahoma
  • franklin
  • Grenade
  • hinds
  • Holmes
  • Humphrey
  • Issaquena
  • Jefferson
  • Leflore
  • Pike
  • Quitman
  • Sharkey
  • Sunflower
  • Tallahatchie
  • Warren
  • Washington
  • Wilkinson
  • Yazoo

According to US Drought Watchthese counties suffered a growing season drought intensity value of: 1) D2 Drought-Severe for 8 or more consecutive weeks, or 2) D3 Drought-Extreme or D4 Drought-Exceptional.

The deadline to apply is December 8, 2022.