USDA Designates 4 Nebraska Counties as Primary Natural Disaster Areas

This Natural Disaster Secretariat designation allows the United States Department of Agriculture Farm Service Agency to provide much-needed emergency credit to growers recovering from a natural disaster through emergency loans. Emergency loans can be used to meet a variety of recovery needs, including replacing critical items such as equipment or livestock, reorganizing a farm operation, or refinancing certain debts. The FSA will review loans based on the extent of losses, available collateral and ability to repay.

According to the US Drought Monitor, these counties experienced a growing season drought intensity rating of 1) D2 Drought-Severe for eight or more consecutive weeks or 2) D3 Drought-Extreme or D4 Drought-Exceptional.

Area affected: Nebraska

Triggering disaster: drought

Application deadline: February 13, 2023

Main eligible counties: Adams, Clay, Deuel and Keith

Contiguous counties also eligible:

Nebraska: Arthur, Garden, Lincoln, Perkins, Buffalo, Hall, McPherson, Webster, Cheyenne, Hamilton, Nuckolls, York, Fillmore, Kearney

Colorado: Sedgwick