USDA designates 6 counties in Nebraska as top natural disaster areas

This natural disaster secretariat designation allows the Agricultural Services Agency of the United States Department of Agriculture to provide much-needed emergency credit to growers recovering from a natural disaster through emergency loans. Emergency loans can be used to meet a variety of recovery needs, including replacing essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganizing a farm, or refinancing certain debts. FSA will review loans based on the extent of losses, available collateral, and repayment capacity.

According to the US Drought Monitor, these counties suffered a drought intensity value during the growing season of 1) D2 Drought-Severe for 8 consecutive weeks or more or 2) D3 Drought-Extreme or D4 Drought-Exceptional .

Affected area: Nebraska

Triggering of a disaster: drought

Registration deadline: June 6, 2022

Eligible main counties: Banner, Box Butte, Keya Paha, Morrill, Scotts Bluff and Sioux

Contiguous counties also eligible:

Nebraska: Boyd, Cherry, Dawes, Holt, Rock, Brown, Cheyenne, Garden, Kimball, Sheridan

South Dakota: Fall River, Gregory, Todd and Tripp

Wyoming: Goshen, Laramie and Niobrara

More resources

On, the Disaster Assistance Discovery Tool, Disaster Assistance Factsheet, and Farm Loan Discovery Tool can help you determine your options. program or loan. To file a loss notice or to ask questions about available programs, contact your local USDA service center.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.